Archive, Restore or Delete Contacts

A situation may arise where you no longer need access to a Contact for normal day-to-day operations, but you don't want to remove the record entirely, or eliminate all data associated with that Contact. Fleetio allows the option to Archive a Contact record.

An Archived Contact may be Restored if you need to reactivate this record. Alternatively, an Archived Contact may be permanently Deleted if you wish to remove all traces, as long as there are no records associated with this Contact (e.g. Service Entries, Work Orders).

A Contact may or may not have been activated as a User, with login access to the Fleetio Account. If a Contact has User access enabled, Archiving the Contact will also deactivate User login.

PERMISSIONS: Account Owners and Administrators with the Manage Users & Roles permission can Archive, Restore or Delete Contact records. Regular Users may be assigned this permission by Role.

How to Archive a Contact

You can Archive Contacts individually or in bulk via the Contact List, or individually from a Contact Profile.

1. Contact List - Archive Individually

Navigate to Contacts & Users > Contact List and click the More Actions drop-down menu at the end of the row. Select Archive Contact and click OK to confirm

2. Contact List - Bulk Archive

Multi-select Contact records via the checkboxes on the left, then click the Archive button, and OK to confirm.

IMPORTANT: You can Archive Contacts in bulk, but you can only Restore individually.

3. Contact Profile - Archive Individually

From the Contact List, click any Contact to View Profile.  Click the Edit Contact drop-down button in the upper right corner, then select Archive, and click OK to confirm.

Current Assignments

If the Contact is assigned to any Vehicles, any Assignments will be automatically ended when the Contact is Archived.

TIP: Learn more in the Assigning a Vehicle to a Contact article.

User Access Deactivation

A Contact may or may not be activated as a User, with login access to the Fleetio Account. If a Contact has User access enabled, Archiving the Contact will also deactivate User login.

TIP: Learn more in the  User Management Overview and  Deactivate Users articles.

Restore a Contact

Restore an Archived Contact at any time. The Contact record will no longer be "Read-Only" and may be assigned to Fuel Entries, Service Entries, etc.

From the Contact List, click the Archived tab (1) to view all Archived Contacts. Click the More Actions drop-down menu at the end of the row (2), then select Restore Contact (3).

Alternatively, click the individual Archived Contact to View Profile, then Restore Contact.

Delete a Contact

You can ONLY Delete a Contact if there are NO associated records, AND if the Contact has NOT had User access enabled.

As long as these conditions are met, the Delete option will appear in the More Actions drop-down menu on the Contact List page, or in the Edit Contact drop-down button on the Contact Profile page.

For an Archived Contact, the More Actions menu and Contact Profile present Delete options as shown below.

IMPORTANT: A User can only be Deactivated, not Deleted. Learn more in the  Deactivate Users article.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us