Archive or Delete Vehicles
Fleetio offers the ability to archive Vehicles as opposed to deleting units that are no longer affiliated with your fleet. This feature allows you to retain all history on the unit but not have the unit count toward your plan allotment.
- No Subscription Fee
- Archived vehicles are not counted against your Fleetio plan vehicle allotment, or per-vehicle subscription fees.
- Read Only
- Archived vehicles are read-only; the cannot be edited.
- In order to edit an archived vehicle, you must first restore it.
- Associated records such as Service Entries and Fuel Entries can only be viewed.
- Reminders Disabled
- Service Reminders and Renewal Reminders are disabled for archived vehicles. They will not appear on the Dashboard or on any Reports (unless the Archived filter is enabled).
- Reminder notifications are not emailed for archived vehicles.
- In order to view reminders associated with an archived vehicle, you must first restore it.
You can Archive an individual Vehicle, or save time and effort by archiving multiple Vehicles at once.
Archive an individual Vehicle from the Vehicle Overview screen:
Archive an individual Vehicle from the Vehicle List screen:
Or multi-select Vehicles with the checkbox to the left of the row (a), then click the Archive icon (b):
View Archived Vehicles
After a vehicle has been archived, it will no longer appear in the Vehicle List, or in vehicle drop-down choice lists throughout the system. The vehicle can still be accessed from the Archived Vehicles tab within the Vehicle List.
Restore Archived Vehicles
Restore an archived vehicle at any time to reactivate Service Reminders and Renewal Reminders, and to re-enable editing.
View archived vehicles as shown above, then click the More Actions menu and Restore:
Or, access the archived vehicle record and click the Restore Vehicle button:
Delete Archived Vehicles
If you wish to permanently remove a Vehicle from your account, you may Delete an Archived Vehicle.
Navigate to the Archived Vehicle List (a), then either multi-select units via checkbox (b) and click the Delete icon (c), or click the More Actions menu for a specific unit (d).