Watching a Vehicle

Fleetio gives you the ability to "watch" certain vehicles, and receive email notifications when certain things happen.

Example: Say you want to receive an email alert when a comment is made on a Vehicle. You can simply "watch" the vehicle and Fleetio will send you an email whenever another user adds a comment.

How to Watch a Vehicle

Just click the  Actions button and select Watch when viewing any Vehicle:

The number on the right side of View Watchers ("2" in the above example) denotes the number of users currently watching a vehicle. Click the menu item to see who those users are.

Note: Regular Users can only watch vehicles that they have View access to according to their Record Sets for vehicles.

See All Vehicles You're Watching

You can easily view all the vehicles you're currently watching by clicking the Watched Vehicles link in the left navigation menu (under Vehicles).

The left side of the Watched Vehicles page will show a table of every vehicle you are currently watching. There are four ways that a vehicle could appear in that list:

  1. You watched the vehicle by manually selecting Watch Vehicle (see "How to watch a vehicle" above)
  2. You are currently assigned to the vehicle (see "Watching Assigned Vehicles" below)
  3. The vehicle belongs to a Group that you are currently configured to watch automatically (see "Watching group(s) of vehicles" below) 
  4. Your Watched Vehicle Settings are set to automatically watch new vehicles (see "Watched Vehicle Settings" below)

Managing Watched Vehicles

On the Watched Vehicles page, you can use the Actions dropdown for each individual vehicle to stop watching it or view its full list of watchers:

You can also Stop Watching vehicles in bulk by clicking the bulk-select boxes to the left of individual vehicles and then pressing the Stop Watching button above the table: 

Note: If a vehicle belongs to a Group that you are currently configured to watch automatically (see "Watching group(s) of vehicles" below), you will be unable to stop watching that vehicle by any method. You must first modify your watched groups.

Watch or Stop Watching All Vehicles

On the Watched Vehicles page you can easily Watch all vehicles or Stop watching all vehicles with the two primary actions in the top right:

Note: Clicking Stop watching all vehicles will also deselect any Groups that you are configured to watch automatically. This is a complete reset of your watched vehicles and watched groups.

Watched Vehicle Settings

On the right side of the Watched Vehicles page, you can manage your Watched Vehicle Settings:

There are three settings to manage:

  1. Automatically watch new vehicles - When a new vehicle (that you have permission to access) is added to Fleetio, you will automatically begin watching it. 
  2. Automatically subscribe to reminders - When you start watching a vehicle (via any means), you'll automatically be subscribed to existing Service Reminders and Renewal Reminders, and any reminders created in the future for that vehicle. (Note: flipping this setting ON will not affect vehicles you're already watching)
  3. Automatically unsubscribe to reminders - when you stop watching a vehicle (via any means), you'll automatically be unsubscribed from every Service Reminder and Renewal Reminder for that vehicle. 

Be sure to click Update Watch Settings to save any changes.

Watching group(s) of vehicles

On the Watched Vehicles page there is a Watched Groups panel in which you can choose vehicle Groups/Subgroups to watch automatically.

Select at least 1 group and click Update Group(s). Fleetio will automatically watch all vehicles currently in that group, and you will be configured to automatically watch/unwatch any vehicle that enters/leaves that group in the future. 

Note: Users can only select from groups they have access to according to their View Record Sets for vehicles.

To remove a watched group, click the `X` next to a group name and click Update Group(s). Fleetio will automatically unwatch all vehcles that you are currently watching in that group, and you will no longer automatically watch/unwatch vehicles entering/leaving that group in the future.

Watching Assigned Vehicles

When a user is assigned to a vehicle, they will automatically be added as a watcher of that vehicle. If that user has the Automatically subscribe to reminders option selected (see above) they will also be added to all reminders for the assigned vehicle.

Conversely, When a user is manually unassigned from a vehicle by clicking the Unassign action, they will automatically stop watching the vehicleIf the user has the Automatically unsubscribe to reminders option selected (see above) they will also be removed from all reminders for the assigned vehicle.

Note: If a vehicle is unassigned from a Contact due to an end date set to the future, the Contact-User will not stop watching the vehicle automatically. The automated unwatch only happens when the "Unassign" option is clicked, as in the screenshot above.

Managing the Watched Vehicles of Other Users

Account Owners and Administrators with permission to Manage Users can modify another user's Watched Vehicles. This is a great way to ensure other users receive important updates about a particular vehicle or group of vehicles.

From a user's Watched Vehicles submenu

On every user's profile, there is a Watched Vehicles submenu that mirrors the functionality of your personal Watched Vehicles page. You can watch/unwatch all vehicles, stop watching specific vehicles individually or in bulk, watch groups of vehicles, or modify the user's Watched Vehicle settings from this page.

On the Watchers page for an individual vehicle

Each vehicle's Watchers page includes a list of every user currently watching that vehicle. Use the Actions dropdown of an individual user to remove them as a watcher from that vehicle.

Note: If a user is watching that vehicle because it belongs to a group selected in their Watched Groups configuration, you will be unable to remove them as a watcher from that vehicle.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us