User Roles & Permissions

Roles are a collection of permission settings that are applied to Regular Users. You can create reusable Standard Roles and apply them to multiple Users, or create a Custom Role for a specific User.

Watch the User Management video introduction & read the overview in this article.

"Full / Some / None" module access explained

Role permissions are broken down into Fleetio modules. Each can be selected as Full, Some, or None access.

  1. Full: User will have every permission available for the selected module and any permission we add for that module in the future.
  2. Some: This is where you can dial-in exactly which granular permissions should be given to a user in this Role. Available permissions can be selected individually - these are then applied at the Role-level and anyone with that Role will have those permissions.
  3. None: The module won’t be accessible or visible for users in that Role. Setting module access to "none" is a great way for reducing the number of navigation options for a particular User in the Fleetio interface.

Standard Roles

These Roles can be applied to multiple Users. When you edit the permissions for a Standard Role, each User assigned to that role will immediately receive the new permissions.

Easily review how many users are assigned to a role from the Manage Roles screen:

Note: A Role can only be deleted if there are 0 users currently assigned to that Role.

Default Role

One role can be marked as default, and it will be pre-selected when creating new users. Select "Make Default" from the Actions dropdown of an individual Role on the Manage Roles screen to set a new Default Role.

Copy a Standard Role

Duplicating a Standard Role is a quick way to create a new Role with a similar permission structure to an existing Role. Form the Manage Roles screen, navigate to the Actions dropdown of the existing Role and select Make a copy.

Custom Roles

These Roles can be applied to an individual user. When you edit the permissions of a Custom Role, only the User assigned to that role will receive the new permissions. Custom Roles are not named and cannot be reused unless they are converted to a Standard Role (see below).

Tip: Custom Roles should only be created for individual Users that require a set of permissions that will not need to be applied to other Users.

Creating a Custom Role

When adding or editing a User, the option to use a Custom Role is available as an alternative at the Role selection step. The ensuing permission-selection process mirrors the creation of a Standard Role, but the Custom Role cannot be given a Name or Description.

Converting a Custom Role to a Standard Role

Navigate to the  Users with Custom Roles submenu from the Roles section of Account Settings to see a list of any Users that are currently using a Custom Role. From this screen, you can convert a User's Custom Role into a Standard Role that can then be reapplied to other users.

Navigate to the desired User and select Convert to Standard Role from the Actions dropdown. Provide a Name and Description (optional) for the new Role, and then click Save. The selected User's Custom Role will become a Standard Role and the User will be assigned the new Role.

Manage User Roles in Bulk

Reassigning multiple Users to a single Standard Role is a simple bulk-action available in two places:

1. Update Role in bulk from User Management screen

On the User Management screen, use the select boxes next to individual Users and then click the Update Role button above the table. Each Standard Role on your account will appear in a list on the ensuing window. Select a Role, and press Save.

Note: Every selected User will be assigned to the selected Standard Role, regardless of their current Role (Standard or Custom)

2. Assign Standard Roles in bulk to Users with Custom Roles

On the Users with Custom Roles submenu, use the select boxes next to individual Users and then click the Assign Standard Role button above the table. Each Standard Role on your account will appear in a list on the ensuing window. Select a Role, and press Save. Every selected User will be assigned to the selected Standard Role instead of their current Custom Role.

Note: A User's Custom Role will not be retained in this process of moving them to a Standard Role

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us