User Roles & Permissions

NOTE: User Roles & Permissions are available on the Pro and Advanced Plans. 
https://www.fleetio.com/pricing#compare

Fleetio's role-based permission system makes it easy to define the access level for each User on your account. Navigate to Users to add, edit, and remove Users. 

Limited Vehicle Access: Reports and Dashboards

Users with limited vehicle access (meaning they can't view or edit ALL vehicles) will only be able to see the vehicles they are authorized to access on all pages, reports and dashboards in Fleetio.

This can lead to confusion if you aren't careful.

For instance, let's say User "A" has access to a subset of vehicles - say all vehicles at the "Chicago" Group - while User "B" is an admin and therefore can access all vehicles.

When User "A" logs in and views the Dashboard, he will see aggregate numbers (e.g. Total Costs for Service Entries) for only the vehicles he can access. Meanwhile, User "B" will see aggregate numbers for all vehicles on the account.

This is how Fleetio is designed to work, but just be aware: users on the same account may see different aggregate numbers (total costs, average MPGs, etc) in certain places based on their vehicle access.


"Account Owner" Role

Account Owners in Fleetio have full access to the system.

The Account Owner is typically the user who created the account, however this can be changed by the Fleetio Support Team if necessary (say for instance the Account Owner leaves the company).


"Admin" Role

Users with the "Admin" role have full access to manage all vehicles on the account.

There are also several specific permissions you can turn on or off for Admins:

  • Create/Delete/Archive Vehicles
    User will be able to create new vehicles on the account. They can also archive/restore or delete existing vehicles on the account.
  • Manage Account Settings
    User will be able to access and update all account settings, such as the account name, the date format displayed throughout the system, and currency format. User will also be able to create/edit/delete settings lists like Groups, Service Tasks, Status options, etc. This permission does *not* give the user the ability to manage other users (see separate permission below).
  • Manage Users
    User will be able to invite other users to the account, and edit the role/permission settings of other users. The user will not be able to update their own role/permission settings or provide permissions beyond their own to new users.

    User will also be able to add/remove vehicle "watchers".
  • Manage Comments
    User will be able to edit and delete comments made by other users (all users can manage their own comments).
  • Manage Subscription and Billing Information
    User will be able to change subscription plan, and update billing and credit card details.
  • Manage Contacts
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Contact records.
  • Manage Vendors
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Vendor records.
  • Export All Account Data
    User will be able to download all account data to a spreadsheet from the Account Settings area.
  • Manage Parts
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Part records and control Part Locations.
  • All Part Locations
    User will be able to manage inventory at selected Part Locations.
  • Update Inventory Quantities & Receive Purchase Orders
    User will be able to adjust inventory quantities for parts at selected Part Locations.
  • Create & Update Purchase Orders
    User will be able to generate new Purchase Orders for selected Part Locations.
  • Approve Purchase Orders
    User will be able to approve all Purchase Orders submitted for selected Part Locations.
  • Export All Account Data
    User will be able to access and export ALL account data to a spreadsheet file. Note that all users can export reports to CSV file, but they will only be able to export the vehicles they can access. This permission allows an admin to export ALL account data at once.

"Manager" Role

Managers are restricted to view and edit specific Vehicles, OR the Vehicles in certain Groups. They cannot add vehicles or edit any Account Settings.

You can give the user access to update all vehicles OR you can select the specific vehicles a "manager" is allowed to update. You can also select to specify a group. When you give a user access to manage a group, ALL vehicle(s) assigned to that group will be updatable by the user. As soon as a vehicle is assigned to another group, the user will no longer be able to edit it (unless he has manager access for the new group of the vehicle as well).

Selected vehicles and groups work in conjunction, meaning a user will be able to manage all vehicles at the chosen group(s) (e.g. "Birmingham") AND selected vehicle(s) (e.g. vehicle "S7Y4P") too.

There are specific permissions you can turn on or off for Managers. Each Manager permission will apply to all vehicles the user can update. For instance if a Manager can update all vehicles at a certain group, but has the "Manage Reminders" permission turned off, they will not be able to add reminders for any vehicles.

Manager permission options for "managed" vehicles:

  • Create Vehicles
    (Disabled if user cannot update all vehicles.) When enabled, user will be able to create a new vehicle across ALL groups on this account. Adding new vehicles will result in additional charges to your account's subscription.
  • Edit Vehicle Details
    User will be able to edit vehicle names and all settings and details of a vehicle. User can also update statuses, add/edit/delete photos, and manage vehicle assignments.
  • Update Odometer Readings
    User will be able to update meter readings (e.g. mileages) and edit/delete existing meter readings.
  • Manage Fuel Entries
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Fuel Entries.
  • Manage Service Entries
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Service Entries.
  • Manage Issues
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Issues.
  • Manage Work Orders
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Work Orders.
  • Manage Reminders
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Service Reminders and Renewal Reminders.
  • Manage Documents
    User will be able to add/edit/delete vehicle Documents.
  • Manage Contacts
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Contact records.
  • Manage Vendors
    User will be able to create/edit/delete Vendor records.
  • Manage Parts
    Users will be able to create/edit/delete Part records and control Part Locations.
  • All Part Locations
    User will be able to manage inventory at selected Part Locations.
  • Update Inventory Quantities & Receive Purchase Orders
    User will be able to adjust inventory quantities for parts at selected Part Locations.
  • Create & Update Purchase Orders
    User will be able to generate new Purchase Orders for selected Part Locations.
  • Approve Purchase Orders
    User will be able to approve all Purchase Orders submitted for selected Part Locations.


"Viewer" Role

Users in the "Viewer" role can access Fleetio, but cannot edit any data. They can run reports, view vehicle data, and be added to notifications.

NOTICE: Users assigned to the Viewer role are allowed to add comments. Fleetio's goal is to make fleet management more of a collaborative process. Therefore, viewers can can participate in any discussions about a vehicle, service entry, etc.

You can give the user access to view all vehicles or you can choose which vehicles a "Viewer" is allowed to view. You can select specific vehicle(s) and/or group(s). When you give a user access to view a group, any vehicle assigned to that group will be viewable by the user. As soon as a vehicle is assigned to another group, the user will no longer be able to view it (unless he has Viewer access for the new group of the vehicle as well).


"Notifications Only" Role

Users in the "Notifications Only" role can receive email notifications (e.g. from Service and/or Renewal Reminders) but do not have access to Fleetio. They cannot actually log into Fleetio to view or manipulate any data on the account.


Changing roles/permissions

Changing a user's role or permission settings will go into effect immediately. For instance, if you take away the ability for a user to manage a certain vehicle, that user will no longer be able to edit the vehicle as soon as you click "Update".

EXAMPLES: Several examples of different User set up scenarios are available on our Common User Scenarios and Settings article. 

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us